2013 Alaska Sports Hall of Fame


by John Thompson @John_AKSN via twitter

Congratulations to the 2013 Alaska Sports Hall of Fame class, headlined by Herb Didrickson and Buck Nystrom.  The Equinox Marathon was honored as an event, while Les Anderson's world record King Salmon and Chris Clark's Olympic marathon trial victory inducted as moments.

The Joe Floyd Award was given to Fairbanks Goldpanners GM Don Dennis, for significant and lasting contribution to Alaska through sports.  Sophmore Paul Tandy of West High School was honored with the Trajan Langdon Award for leadership, sportsmanship, and inspiration.

Mario Chalmers and the Nunaka Valley girls softball team were recipients of Spirit of Alaska Awards, for consistent excellence in athletic competition.

For more information on these athletes, events, and moments, please visit www.alaskasportshall.org, Van Williams does an incredible job highlighting the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame via text.

Most Popular